Day 3: The Reason behind my name…

Well, the challenge says the reason behind my business name but this isn’t exactly a business. Now my “business” name is Capture Diem Photography, if you’d call that a business since I don’t really shoot often. But my blog name “Mother to a Zoo” means a lot to me.

Once upon a time… It all started one day when I was trying to come up with something clever that would describe my life. At the time I had 3 kids; my oldest was 5, then my 4 year year old and my 1.5 year old. Then I had 4 dogs. My oldest husky Loki, my mutt thing Dobby (yes in this house we do magic and go to Hogwarts), then the pit we acquired Red, and a bulldog/jack Russell mix Smaug (Think dragons and Lord of the Rings). 

Life was chaotic. I had been using Mombie a lot. Or ZombieMombie. I’m big into zombies too, in case you didn’t know. That didn’t really seem to fit well though. We had just purchased a nice size 4 bedroom house with tons of land. I was telling my husband all of my big “plans” for the land. I’m talking horses, cows, pigs, chickens, (more) dogs, the works. He jokingly said to me I might as well get a zebra and an elephant and have a full zoo! Mind you I’m also pregnant at the time. 

And so the name was born… Mother to a Zoo just kind if stuck after that. My life is constant chaos and I really feel like I run a Zoo between these kids and the dogs. Picture going to the zoo but all the animals are out of containment. That’s my house 24/7. I don’t really mind though. I find comfort in the chaos. My smile never fades and my heart is so full. I know one day I will look back and I’ll miss it. The kids will all be doing their own thing and I probably will be down a dog or two and things will be quiet. No mess, no fussing, just silence. And I’ll think about the days when “quiet” was just a word in the dictionary to me.

Leave a Reply

